Intercountry Adoption Accreditation Services

On June 2, 2022, the Department of State designated CEAS as an accrediting entity under the Intercountry Adoption Act of 2000 (IAA) in accordance with 22 CFR Part 96.  CEAS will be responsible for accrediting, approving, monitoring, and overseeing ASPs whose primary offices are in states within the jurisdiction assigned to CEAS which includes the following regions/states:

Region 1 - New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Region 2 - Northeast and Caribbean: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Region 3 - Mid-Atlantic: Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Region 5 - Great Lakes: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Region 6 - Heartland: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

Region 10 - Northwest Arctic: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Region 11 - National Capital: Washington, DC

CEAS’s services and responsibilities as an accrediting entity will commence on December 1, 2022.​